Associate with Indianapolis’ Schmidt Associates earns architecture honor

Steven Alspaugh

Associate Steven Alspaugh with Indianapolis-based architecture and engineering firm Schmidt Associates has been elevated to the American Institute of Architects (AIA) College of Fellows for making architecture part of an ever-increasing service to society.

AIA Fellows achieve this membership honor for their work and contributions to the profession of architecture and society on a national level. Only 3% of AIA’s total membership carries this distinction and in the 2023 class, there were 76 Fellows named by a nine-member Jury of Fellows and Honorary Fellows.

Committed to his community, state, and the AIA national organization for nearly 40 years, Alspaugh has elevated the reach of architecture through awards programs with the AIA Honors and Awards Task Force, the AIA’s National Committee on Design and by consistently working to increase resiliency and ability to respond to natural disasters as the AIA Indiana State Disaster Coordinator.

Alspaugh has broadened and enhanced the profession by positively changing culture, impacting community growth and advancing the practice.

Project examples include Ball State University Schmidt-Wilson Residence Hall, the Indiana State University Federal Hall/Scott College of Business, the Landini Center for the Performing Arts, and Bayh College of Education, the Franklin College Johnson Center for Fine Arts and the Bucknell University Sigfried Weis Music Building.

Alspaugh has furthered professional knowledge by authoring articles about acoustics, integrity, stewardship, design strategy, spirit,  incorporating works of art in building design, Mass Ave. urban revitalization, and biophilic design. He’s also served as the AIA Indiana Board Secretary, Design Awards Co-Chair, Craftmanship Awards Co-Chair, and on the organization’s Board of Directors.

Nationally, Alspaugh has served AIA since 2003 in various capacities, including as the Twenty-Five-Year Award Coordinator, and a 2014 Committee on Design National Chair, presentation developer and planning team member for the AIA COD Honors & Awards Dinner, and Blue-Ribbon Task Force member, a National Convention Speaker, and Moderator. For his efforts, he has been recognized with the AIA Indiana President’s Award, the Juliet Peddle Award, and the Edward D. Pierre Award, and now an AIA Fellow.

Alspaugh will be formally recognized during an investiture ceremony during the AIA Conference on Architecture 2023 in San Francisco.