Jeff Lewis promoted to VP and office director at Shive-Hattery

Shive-Hattery announced that Jeff Lewis will transition from his role as Chicago team leader to serve as vice president and office director of the Chicago and Valparaiso design offices. He succeeds Spero Valavanis, who will remain with the architecture and engineering design firm to focus on master facility planning and design for his long-term relationship clients.

“Spero has always been passionate about elevating design and nurturing the development of staff,” said president Jim Lee. “We are supportive and appreciative of his efforts to help us continue our mission of building communities.”

Lewis started with Design Organization (DO) in 1998 and continued on with Shive-Hattery in 2012 when DO became a part of firm. Since becoming a part of Shive-Hattery, Lewis has served as a Chicago team leader.

“Jeff’s approach is built upon 20 years of design and leadership experience along with a strong sense of community service and partnership,” said Valavanis. “He is focused on creating an environment to support collaborative and creative thinking and providing growth and opportunities for our team. Jeff looks forward to many more years in both the Illinois and Indiana areas.”

Lewis is an active member of the community and will continue to be as he transitions into his new role. He serves as chairman of the Project Neighbors board of directors and sits on the Valparaiso Parks Foundation board of directors, the ValpoNEXT board of directors and the Concordia College New York presidential advisory council. He is a former member of the boards of directors for Taltree Arboretum and the Valparaiso Chamber of Commerce.

“I’m honored to have this opportunity to grow my role while providing continued service for our clients, employees and communities,” said Lewis. “Spero and I are dedicated to a seamless transition.”

Lewis received his bachelors of architecture and environmental design from Ball State University. He has been licensed as a registered architect in Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Indiana, Maine, Nebraska, North Carolina, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Pennsylvania, Utah and Washington.